Full License and Automatic Mutual Recognition

  • June 8, 2022
June 13, 2022 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Australia/Sydney Timezone
Full License and Automatic Mutual Recognition

Dear Oxbridge Partners and Affiliates,

Australian State and Territories governments have significantly increased the course and experience required to upgrade to a full real estate license. For example NSW Fair Trading now requires 3 years work experience before you can become a Class I agent in NSW. With the introduction of AMR (Automatic Mutual Recognition) from 1st July, 2022 FULLY LICENSED AGENTS can now sell real estate anywhere in Australia without paying additional fees or needing to register for interstate mutual recognition. Oxbridge is encouraging all agents to upgrade to a full license as soon as possible. Without a full license you are at a massive disadvantage when it comes to selling projects and competing in the industry.

QLD is currently the ONLY state in Australia where a full license is obtainable without work experience. There is little doubt an experience requirement will be shortly introduced in 3-6 months once QLD joins AMR. As such Oxbridge HIGHLY recommends agents to use this short amount of time to obtain a full QLD license and then transfer this back to their own state using existing mutual recognition legislation. For agents wishing to do this Oxbridge is offering tuition and mentoring support. Join the session below to find out more:

Time and Date: Monday, 13th June, 2022 12:00pm AEST, 10.00am WA, 11.30am SA/NT
Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/6806901300

What is Automatic Mutual Recognition?

Automatic mutual recognition (AMR) enables individuals licensed or registered for an occupation in one Australian state or territory to work in another state or territory using their home state licence.

Workers covered by AMR may be able to do the activities they are licensed for in their home state in other states and territories without the need to apply and pay fees for a second licence.

The scheme makes it easier for licensed or registered workers to operate in multiple states and territories. AMR provides safeguards to maintain standards and protect consumers, workers and others.

The AMR scheme is set out in the Mutual Recognition Act 1992 of the Commonwealth (MRA). Victoria has adopted the AMR scheme under the Mutual Recognition (Victoria) Act 1998.

States and territories participating in AMR

The AMR scheme has commenced in:

  • Victoria (VIC)
  • New South Wales (NSW)
  • South Australia (SA)
  • Tasmania (Tas)
  • Australian Capital Territory (ACT)
  • Northern Territory (NT).
  • Western Australia (From 1st July, 2022)
  • Queensland (No confirmed date – expected 3-6 months)

There is no fee to submit for an AMR notification.


ACT: https://www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au/s/article/automatic-mutual-recognition-tab-overview

NSW: https://www.nsw.gov.au/nsw-government/projects-and-initiatives/making-it-easier-for-registered-professionals-to-work-interstate

NT: https://nt.gov.au/industry/licences/automatic-mutual-registration-for-occupational-licences

SA: https://www.cbs.sa.gov.au/news/automatic-recognition-licences

WA: https://www.dmirs.wa.gov.au/content/mutual-recognition

VIC: https://www.consumer.vic.gov.au/licensing-and-registration/automatic-mutual-recognition

The Oxbridge Team


    Leave Your Comment Here

    close chatgpt icon

    Enter your request.